Pear and parsnip soup and a bare bones bento.

Pear parsnip soup

I can’t take credit for this soup – the recipe comes from Ricki over at Diet, Dessert and Dogs, and I barely made any changes to it. I halved the recipe, since I am just cooking for myself today, and I added a glug of white wine and a roasted elephant garlic to the mix after the sautéing step. I used a low sodium stock cube instead of proper vegetable stock. I served it with a sprinkling of hemp seeds and pumpkin seeds, and it was a lovely supper on a wet fall night! The rest of it goes into tomorrow’s lunch. Highly recommended!

Simple lunch

This was my very simple lunch today – left-over millet, cold-smoked mackerel (from the grocery store) and some cucumber.I picked out the two cupcake molds and reheated the millet in the microwave, and then mixed in the mackerel. Kind of salty-satisfying 🙂

2 responses to “Pear and parsnip soup and a bare bones bento.

  1. Thanks so much for the shout-out about the soup! And I’m glad you liked it. I love the idea of sprinkling with pumpkin and hemp seeds (the latter are my fave seed for sure). Your bowl looks delish! 🙂

    • My pleasure, it was great soup 🙂
      The bowl is from Muji – a set of six with different colors inside. They’re great and really deep.

Leave a comment