Sinful brownies.

I have had this terrible craving for brownies lately. And I am out of many of the ingredients for my killer vegan coconut brownies. And I am feeling sinful. I have been eating some foods lately with smaller amounts of egg with no particular ill effect, so I figured I could push it a little. The photo is soso, given that we had a camera accident yesterday with the DSLR – there seems to be a spring out of place in the lens and it needs a trip to an expert. Instragram it is..

The recipe is an adaptation of Fanny’s brownies from her old blog Foodbeam (which is also found on Smitten Kitchen, where the measurements are not by weight). Fanny, who now blogs here, is a French pastry chef, and in addition to using lots of ingredients we can’t have in this house, she obviously has better technique than me.. But these are pretty simple. I can’t remember ever putting so much sugar and butter in ANYTHING. They are really incredibly sweet. But very tasty and satisfying in small portions! Even husband dearest only had 1.5 square, and he is usually unstoppable.

The fact of the high proportion of butter, sugar and cocoa made for a fairly easy gluten-free adaptation since you don’t have to change much. I substituted the 65g of flour with 13 g of Orgran’s Gluten-free Gluten, which I had sitting around but hadn’t used much, and 52g of sweet rice flour. (The “Gluten-free Gluten” should replace 20%, ie 1/5 of the flour, hence the strange  numbers).

The recipe itself is fairly simple, but it does take a lot of stirring. It took longer than I expected for the butter/sugar/cocoa mixture to look the way it was supposed to, and I think I was too impatient and didn’t stir it for long enough over the bain-marie. My back/arm wasn’t too happy about the motion, so I gave up. In the finished brownie, there were still sugar crystals, which I think would have otherwise dissolved.

So I won’t make these kinds of things a habit, for all sorts of health-related reasons. But 10 days before moving across the ocean it didn’t quite make sense to buy a new jar of coconut oil and all when I had all I needed for these.. And they ARE delicious!

Sinful gluten-free cocoa brownies

  • 140g butter (I only had salted butter so I did not add extra salt)
  • 280g sugar
  • 80g cocoa powder (I used Cocoa Camino brand)
  • 52 g Mochiko Sweet Rice flour
  • 13 g Orgran Gluten-free Gluten (GfG)

In a small bowl, mix the sweet rice flour and GfG. Set aside.

Preheat oven to 160C. Line square baking pan with parchment/baking paper.

Measure out the butter, cocoa and sugar (I just put the bowl on an electric scale ad tare after each ingredient, but you probably figured that out yourself).

Place over a simmering bain-marie and stir. It will take some time for the butter to melt and the ingredients to combine properly. Fanny says you should continue until it reaches about 50-60C (ie it feels hot to touch).

Set aside and cool a little.

Add the eggs one by one, whisking for approx 1 minute after each (I struggled with this after the first one, so I whisked extra after the second).

Fold in flour mix.

Bake for 20 mins. Cool before slicing.

3 responses to “Sinful brownies.

  1. Rice flour brownies sound awesome. I bake gluten free occasionally, and mochi flours is one of my favourites to experiment with.

    • Thanks for the comment – I was just admiring your blog the other day 🙂
      I don’t use mochi flours that much given that there are healthier gf flours around, but the results tend to be quite good. I think the sweet rice flour might have made these brownies extra chewy. (And lets face it, it’s not like buckwheat flour would have redeemed these nutritionally ;))

  2. Pingback: Black bean espresso brownies. | Dabbling in baking and bento making

Leave a Reply

