Savory gluten-free millet rosemary muffins

This recipe has several things going for it:

  1. it’s simple
  2. it’s quite healthy – all whole-grain
  3. it doesn’t require a lot of strange ingredients, like many gluten-free recipes
  4. Yet it still turned out so well that for a moment I wondered if I had put wheat flour by mistake – so fluffy and light! (then I remembered that if I had, in such a wet batter, it would have turned into a disaster…)
  5. I think the basic recipe could be varied endlessly with different flavors (I’ll report back once this is ascertained!)
  6. Would work great with soup as a gluten-free alternative to a roll

I came up with it as I was trying to think of something to bring to an afternoon at the beach that wouldn’t spoil too easily in the heat. They are inspired by a recipe from Lundberg Farms (the rice company) which features their gluten-free couscous. I had used the last of mine, and it is quite expensive, so I tried to think of something that might work instead. Millet does have a similar texture to couscous when cooked (at a 2:1 water-millet ratio) so I went with that.

I don’t usually use eggs, given that I don’t like them much and don’t feel great eating a lot of eggs. But I am not allergic to them, really, and I can handle it when it is just one. Gluten-free baking is really a lot easier with eggs…

The original recipe called for buttermilk. There is no such thing as lactose-free buttermilk in the grocery store, so I used the same trick one uses for vegan “buttermilk” – i.e. mixing the milk with a teaspoon of vinegar so that it curdles. This would work just fine with a vegan milk alternative and margarine, but what I had in the fridge today was lactose free milk and butter (the husband has transitioned to lactose-free milk – that way we just need to have one carton in the house at a time, given that I don’t like soy etc, and it also makes better cappuccinos etc).

Savory, gluten-free millet muffins

  • 1 egg (preferably organic)
  • 3/4 cup lactose free milk (I use 2%)
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 50 g butter, melted
  • 1 cup cooked millet, cooled at least somewhat (you don’t want to cook the egg, I guess)
  • 1 tbsp (yes) baking powder
  • t tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup chickpea flour (or more rice flour)
  • 1 tbsp psyllium husk (optional)
  • salt
  • pepper
  • rosemary

Mix the egg, milk, butter and vinegar. Mix in millet and stir to break up and avoid lumps. Mix dry ingredients in another bowl first, and then blend into the wet.

Don’t overfill the muffin liners – they rise quite a bit (I guess 1tbsp of baking powder has that effect, even when it is gluten free!) I got ten muffins from this recipe.

Bake for 23-25 minutes at 400F.

2 responses to “Savory gluten-free millet rosemary muffins

  1. I made these today, and they turned out wonderfully. I substituted soy powder and water for the milk, used a variety of herbs, and topped them with some pecorino romano. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

