Gluten-free vegan coconut brownies.

I shoudn’t really say this, but this recipe came to be when I was sitting in statistics class and procrastinating online… My starting point is this recipe (in Norwegian) for vegan blondies, or something like that. I wanted to make it gluten-free, and I also figured that I love chocolate, so I decided to put cocoa. Also, I am allergic to nuts, so the walnuts were out. In the end, the chocolate walnut blondies became these sort of coconut brownies.  The other good thing about making them into brownies is that I could use teff flour without the color looking odd — the cocoa masks the brown of the teff.

They turned out exceptionally delicious, I must say. The best vegan brownies I think I have ever baked, even though they are gluten-free. Wow!

Gluten-free vegan coconut brownies

  • 3 tbsp ground flax seed
  • 100 ml rice milk
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 5 tbsp coconut oil
  • 200 ml sugar (pref. brown)
  • 100 ml teff flour
  • 100 ml brown rice flour
  • 3 tbsp cocoa
  • 1 tbsp corn starch
  • 3/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 3 tbsp orange juice
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 100 ml chocolate chips (check that they are vegan/gf)
  • 50 ml unsweetened shredded coconut

This list of ingredients got quite a bit longer than the original, which is largely because of the “gluten-freedom”. There is no one-for-one replacement for wheat flour, sadly… There are also quite a few steps to this recipe compared to my usual fare, but bear with me. It’s not actually that complicated.

1. Mix flax meal, rice milk and vinegar and heat for 30 sec in the microwave. Set aside to form a gooey mess.

2. Thoroughly mix coconut oil and sugar, like with an electric mixer. (I had to use half and half brown and normal sugar as I ran out, and mixed with our immersion blender with the whipping attachment. If your coconut oil is very hard you may want to leave it somewhere warm for a bit.)

3. Thoroughly mix all the dry ingredients in a separate bowl or container in order for the xanthan gum to be distributed evenly. (I put it in a sealed jar and shook it vigorously – worked well.)

4. Add orange juice, vanilla and flax mixture to the butter and sugar, incorporate.

5. Add half of the dry ingredients and mix well. Fold in chocolate chips and coconuts. Fold in rest of flour mixture.

6. Bake in greased pan at 180C/350F for 25-30 minutes.

5 responses to “Gluten-free vegan coconut brownies.

  1. MMMMMM,..These gf coconut brownies look to die for,..really!

    You have a COOl foodblog!! Yes!

    Many greetings from a recent gf fooide from Brussels, Belgium!

  2. Thanks very much for your kind words 🙂

    They are indeed to die for! You should absolutely try them.

    I also thought your speculoos muffins looked wonderful!

  3. Pingback: Arepas and brownie love. | Dabbling in baking and bento making

  4. Pingback: Sinful brownies. | Dabbling in baking and bento making

  5. Pingback: Black bean espresso brownies. | Dabbling in baking and bento making

Leave a Reply

