Getting bento ready.

Term starts tomorrow, so I have a busy week ahead. I am taking advantage of this quiet Sunday to prepare some bento food for the coming week, so that I can just assemble my lunchboxes quickly in the morning.

I made brown rice onigiri, but then discovered that my new short grain brown rice was not remotely sticky, so they just fell apart and were not really photogenic… Oh well, they’ll still be edible πŸ™‚

More successful: carrot kinpira!

Also, turkey basil mini burgers


  • 1 pack (a pound?) of lean ground turkey
  • a bunch (1-2 tbsp) of finely chopped basil
  • 2-3 tbsp of bread crumbs (I used store-bought gluten-free bread crumbs)
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground flax seeds, 3 tbsp water)
  • generous seasoning with salt and pepper

Mix all the ingredients thoroughly and shape into small burgers (I got 12 out of this). Fry in olive oil, make sure they are cooked through. Freeze. You can just put them frozen in your bento in the morning, and they will be defrosted by lunch time.

I am also planning to whip up a batch of green pea burgers later if I get around to it, and perhaps a batch of muffins. I recently made some pretty good gluten-free orange poppy seed muffins, and I have been thinking I should refine the recipe a bit and post it. All of this should keep me lunchbox happy all week!

2 responses to “Getting bento ready.

  1. Pingback: Back to school bento. | Dabbling in baking and bento making

  2. Pingback: Simple bentos. | Dabbling in baking and bento making

Leave a Reply

