Gluten free teff flax bread.


I have tried countless times to make gluten-free bread, generally with limited success. They end up like bricks, or they don’t taste very good. Well, I think in general they taste too buckwheat-y, because I try to use wholesome grains, and buckwheat is easy to work with. But frankly, I don1t think it tastes all that good in most things (makes decent pancakes though!).

In Norway over the summer, I used some of the pre-made mixes they sell there and produced some quite tolerable loaves, especially when we added in some extra seeds and such. Here in Canada, however, the only pre-made mixes I find are for wonderbread-type “sandwich bread”, and they contain only rice flour and starch. I refuse! So here I go again, trying to produce something from scratch with limited use of refined starches. I might try to experiment with it to eventually cut down the brown rice flour and potato starch too, but most recipes (and the Norwegian premade boxes) all contain some starch and I assume it helps the texture.

I have to say I am quite pleased with it! The dough rose well, and there is something about the dark color of the teff flour that makes it look extra wholesome. It smells nice too, and it is certainly the best tasting gluten-free bread I have made so far!

Teff flax bread

  • 400 g flour – I used about 150 g dark teff flour, 50 g potato starch, 50 g millet flour, 50 g quinoa flakes and 100 g brown rice flour
  • 50 g flax seeds
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 500 ml water (lukewarm)
  • 2 tbsp psyllium husks
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 1 tbsp active dry yeast

Mix all the flours and the xanthan gum well (My approach was just to put a big bowl on the scale and add flours until I reached 400g, then thoroughly mix in xanthan gum and flax seeds).

Heat the water on the stovetop (or however) until it is about lukewarm. Add psyllium husks, yeast and sugar to a bowl. Pour over the lukewarm water and mix well. Add oil.

Add the dry ingredients and mix very well (a few minutes in a mixer if possible). Transfer to oiled loaf pan.

Leave to rise in a warm, humid place for 30-45 minutes. A trick is to fill a cup with water and heat in the microwave for 1.5-2 mins. Then you put the loaf pan into the microwave with the cup of warm water (leaving the microwave off this time, in case there was any doubt). Then you get a little warm and humid microclimate for your bread.

Bake at 210 C for about 40-45 mins, until golden and pretty. I baked mine for 35 minutes, and I think that ended up being slightly underbaked.

3 responses to “Gluten free teff flax bread.

  1. As one of Anne’s biggest followers into the gluten free baking, I must say that this break looks absolutely mouth watering!

  2. Awww thanks… Come visit and I will make you some… xxx

  3. Pingback: Perfected gluten-free bread. | Dabbling in baking and bento making

Leave a Reply

