Gluten-free pear/chocolate upside-down cake.

This is really just a re-do of the pear and chocolate muffins from the other day as a cake, but isn’t it pretty?! (and those muffins were, again, a spin on the muffin recipe from Linux Caffe).

I used the same recipe, but I baked it, as you see, in a round springform pan which I generously buttered and sprinkled with brown sugar, and then I lay pear slices at the bottom. I also added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of xanthan gum to the batter, and omitted the chocolate chips. I added the xanthan gum to make sure the cake wouldn’t collapse.

I baked it for 24 minutes at 200, and I could have probably taken it out a few minutes earlier, so keep an eye on it. Leave it to cool properly before removing the ring of the springform pan and carefully flipping it onto a plate. If I had had parchment paper, I would have lined the dish with it to facilitate flipping, but it went quite smoothly as it was.

This is a surprisingly wholesome concoction for a cake, I must say. It’s vegan and gluten-free, not extremely high in either sugar or fat (partly fruit-sweetened), and not made with extremely refined starches/flours (brown rice flour is not nutritionally amazing, but it’s better than the white varieties anyway).  Additionally, because of the pears, it doesn’t require any form of frosting. And it tastes great, too!

Here it is before the flip:

And here it is afterwards:

Update 200510: I calculated the nutritional info on this, and it’s really not bad for cake. Based on 12 servings, each slice has 120 kcal: 5.2 g fat (0.5 saturated), 18.5 g carbohydrates (1.7 g fiber and 8.4 g sugar) and 1.5 g protein. Quite a guilt-free treat!

One response to “Gluten-free pear/chocolate upside-down cake.

  1. Pingback: Cookbook Club Upside Down Rainbow Cake Recipe | CookBook Club

Leave a Reply

