Gluten-free tomato tart.

I adapted this recipe for dinner, and it was great! I really like that the crust is super healthy and full of fiber, as it is made from mostly bean flours and ground flax seed, with little oil.

For the crust I swapped tahini for the almond butter, and I used water and a dash of Herbamare in place of unsweetened soy milk or broth.

As a topping, I used onions and cherry tomatoes. I am too lazy to caramelize onions properly, because it takes so much time, so I just slice them really thin with the mandolin, and sort of steam-fry them in some olive oil with a lid on. I then add a dash of balsamic, and let them cook for a while, and voila, lovely sweet balsamic onions.

I chopped the cherry tomatoes in half and popped them in the salad spinner. Not too much liquid came out, so I mashed them up a bit with a fork and spun them again, and that got them going. The purpose of this is to get some moisture out so the tart doesn’t turn soggy. I also sprinkled the thing with salt, pepper and italian seasoning before popping it in the oven. Yum!

One response to “Gluten-free tomato tart.

  1. Your tart sounds great! I love the “instant” caramelized onion idea πŸ˜‰ Thanks for giving the crust a try πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

