Good gluten-free muffins.

While I have mastered the gluten-free cookie, I have struggled much more with other gluten-free baked goods. Gluten-free baking is hard! Yet I have known all along that it is possible, because they serve awesome vegan gluten-free loaves and muffns at Linux Caffé around the corner. I have tried to quiz them a bit about what they put in their muffins, and I have discovered that they contain rice and buckwheat flours, and banana, and that they try to sweeten them with fruit to cut down the sugar. They also said that they did not use flax eggs or xantham gum. Otherwise they change it up with new flavor combinations every day.

I then came across this recipe, and I decided to tweak it using what I knew from Linux. The result was the yummiest gluten-free muffin so far, and while it still does not rival Linux’s muffins, it does come relatively close! I actually really don’t like banana, and I am a bit puzzled because the Linux Caffe ones really don’t taste like banana at all. These ones do, a little bit, but it really shouldn’t be an issue. They are moist and nice, and I am sure they can be varied infinitely! I certainly intend to find out.

Gluten-free muffins (makes 6)

  • 3/4 dl sweet rice flour
  • 3/4 dl buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 dl flax meal
  • 1/2 dl sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 dl dried cranberries
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1/4 dl canola oil
  • 1/2 dl unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 dl soy milk with 1 tsp apple cider vinegar (so that it curdles)

In one bowl, mix the dry ingredients. In a second bowl, mix the wet (including the banana.) Add the wet to the dry and combine. Bake at 375 F for about 25-30 minutes, test for doneness.

Leave a Reply

