More cookie success!

So I made amazing cookies on Saturday. Which just happened to be both vegan and gluten free! Yes, I wouldn’t believe myself either if I were you. But really, they are amazing. I made them first with vegan white chocolate chips, which was possibly even more divine, but I obviously forgot to take a picture before they were all devoured… Also, I am out of vegan white chocolate chips and they are expensive. (The only place I have found any is at Panacea, the vegan shop on Bloor, which in my opinion is both expensive and a little bit too righteous…)

So here come the dark chocolate version, with vegan normal chocolate chips (Enjoy Life brand, which is totally allergen free). They are not quite as ecstatically good, I must admit, and somehow the white chocolate ones were prettier, but either way this recipe is clearly the highway to gluten free vegan cookie success. I am planning to make a ginger version next, with powdered ginger and candied ginger pieces. Looking forward to it already!

Vegan gluten-free chocolate cranberry cookies

  • 1 dl Earth Balance/other non-dairy margarine, at room temperature
  • 1.5 dl brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp flax meal (the cookies will be prettiest using flax meal from golden flax seeds)
  • 3 tbsp water
  • 2 dl Mochiko sweet rice flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 dl chocolate chips
  • about 2 dl dried cranberries

Make a “flax egg” by mixing flax meal and water and stirring well, set aside until it becomes gooey.

Cream Earth Balance and sugar. Add vanilla. Add the flax egg and mix well. Fold in the rice flour mixed with baking soda. Fold in chocolate chips and dried cranberries.

Shape into a long sausage and wrap in cling film, refrigerate until totally firm (1-3 hours, up to 3 days). When you are ready to bake them, slice up into cookie size chunks and bake at 350F/180C for 10-12 minutes, until golden. Make sure you leave a little bit of space around them, but they won’t grow too much.

Leave to cool for a couple of minutes on the baking sheet before peeling them off and setting aside to cool.

Enjoy!

3 responses to “More cookie success!

  1. Oh, I have two bags of dried cranberries that have been just *sitting there* taunting me. I think I’ll use your recipe as an opportunity to teach them to stop staring.

  2. Welcome to my blog! And yes, you should!

  3. MMMMMMMMMMM,..these gf cookies look like real winners!

Leave a Reply

