Healthy snacks.

I am not really feeling like making muffins lately, seeing as only I can eat them. I haven’t quite figured out how to make good gluten-free ones yet. So I have been thinking about things I could make that are naturally gluten free, and I was inspired by Linux Café down the street which serves up “quinoa cups” which are both vegan and gluten free. They are a mix of quinoa and seeds and dried fruit that look like they are baked in muffin liners.

I didn’t know how they made them, but my first attempt turned out OK. I can’t really provide recipes because I have just been making it up as I have been going along, but I will try to formalize this eventually.

I just cooked quinoa and mixed with pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, chia seeds and raisins, and made a wet mixture from brown rice syrup, apple sauce, cinnamon and ginger. I baked them for about 30 mins at 350F. Because the quinoa was kind of wet, they turned out soggy in the middle, but very tasty.

For my second attempt, I have tried to dry out the cooked quinoa at a low temperature in the oven, and toasted the other seeds in a pan. I made a chocolate mixture from brown rice syrup, cocoa and chocolate, and just mixed it up and chilled it. Let’s see!

Leave a Reply

