Making granola.

With so many dietary restrictions, it’s not always easy to find cereal we can both eat. I have a particularly hard time because I can’t have any nuts or sunflower seeds. We have usually eaten Kashi GoLean Crunch, but since Al is avoiding wheat it is no longer an option for him. That’s why I decided to make my own granola for once. I’ve done it before, but it’s been a while. I am often a bit skeptical because many recipes use a lot of oil, but not this one! It still has some sugar, of course, but it’s not really that sweet.

I started out with this recipe from David Leibovitz (originally Nigella Lawson’s), but made some changes to the actual content to make it nut-free. I halved it, and used oats, shredded unsweetened coconut, sesame seeds, some chia seeds and brown sugar (not very much). I added ginger (a full tsp) and cinnamon. For the wet ingredients, I used oil and apple sauce as directed, but I added a little bit extra of the brown rice syrup instead of the honey.

I baked it at 300F for 3×10 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes to avoid burning. Once it was nice and toasty, I mixed in dried cranberries, raisins, and some chopped caramelized ginger. It’s a really lovely, not too sweet, crunchy granola. I think I could have added even more ground ginger for an extra zing, will try that next time!

Leave a Reply

