Impossible pumpkin pie.

I recently featured a riff on a cookie recipe from the blog FatFree Vegan, and what do you know, here I have made another of the lovely Susan V’s creations. While her recipes are not always actually fat free, she cooks without adding any fat in the form of oil, butter etc. Her food is also, of course, vegan, and even occasionally gluten free. What is left then, you may ask? And could it possibly taste good?

The answer to the first question depends (in this case, mainly pureed pumpkin), and the answer to the second question is that it does. I saw this recipe  for crustless pumpkin pie in her archives a while back, I think around Thanksgiving, and was instantly intrigued. I never got around to making it, because I didn’t have the ingredients on hand. I still actually don’t have a bunch of them in the house, so I made some changes.

The original recipe can be found here. I totally fudged the measurements as I very roughly translated them to metric, but nothing went wrong.. I didn’t have egg replacer around, or corn starch, so I used 2 relatively heaped tbsp of potato starch to replace both, and dropped the water. I also only had pumpkin pie mix, not plain pumpkin puree, so I cut most of the sugar and spices. It turned out well all the same and is almost simpler than the original… And practically healthy!

Impossible pumpkin pie

  • 3 dl soy milk (I only had sweetened Silk. It’s not called vanilla but it definitely tastes like it)
  • 2 heaped tbsp potato starch
  • 0.5 tbsp ap flour (meaning my spin is not entirely gluten free)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 4 dl pumpkin pie mix
  • 1 dl rice flour (I used Mochiko sweet rice flour which is what I had around)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 dl brown sugar
  • seasoning? I added a sprinkling of cinnamon and nutmeg.

Whisk the soy milk, starch and vanilla well. Add pumpkin and mix well. Add the remaining ingredients. Mix it all very well. The original recipe is made in a blender, which sounds like a great idea, I just don’t have one.. Check the seasoning, adjust to taste.

Pour into a buttered and floured pan. It should be round, I just didn’t have one… So mine doesn’t quite look like pumpkin pie. But it tasted like it! Bake for about 60 mins at 350F. Chill properly before attempting to cut it.

It will magically form a crust and be custardy in the middle — very very good and almost healthy 🙂

Leave a Reply

