Vegan gluten-free (I think) coconut cookies.

I am used to cooking and baking for most kinds of dietary restrictions, but gluten is thankfully not something I have to worry about on a regular basis. Flourless cakes can be wonderful, but most of the time the really good ones will contain either lots of eggs or lots of nuts. So not for me… Cutting out all of the above becomes somewhat more tricky. 

However, some of my cousins who are coming for our annual Christmas lunch are on a both gluten-free and non-dairy diet. I wanted to see if I could think of something we could all actually eat, and I think I may have done it.

The concern is that I am not really sure if they can eat oats, and these cookies do contain half a cup of oat meal/flour. But other than that, these cookies are free from wheat, dairy, eggs, and even from added fat. They turn out sort of chewy and coconutty, and quite sweet. I might use a little less sugar next time. 

The recipe is not quite mine — I adapted it from this recipe from the excellent blog FatFree Vegan. Those were not gluten-free, however, so I made some adjustments. I didn’t have pre-mixed gluten-free flour at hand, but I did have oatmeal and chickpea flour and made do with that. It worked 🙂 I also used silken tofu, and it turned out quite wet enough so I did not add any water.

Vegan wheat-free coconut cookies

  • 1/2 cup oat flour (oatmeal whizzed in a blender until it looks like flour, in this case)
  • 1/2 cup chickpea flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened dessicated coconut flakes
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt (I forgot)
  • 1/2 pack (150 g) silken tofu (left over from my chocolate mousse!)
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Mix the “oat flour”, chickpea flour, sugar, baking soda, coconut and salt well. 

Whiz the tofu in a blender or with a whisk with the vanilla until it becomes smooth and soft. Add it to the dry ingredients, and mix it all together. Don’t overmix. If the batter does not quite come together and appears to require more moisture, you can add a few tablespoons of water. I found that it was perfect just with the tofu. 

Put spoonfuls on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, bake for 12-15 mins or until baked through/golden around the edges. Sprinkle some sugar on top, and cool.

3 responses to “Vegan gluten-free (I think) coconut cookies.

  1. Pingback: Impossible pumpkin pie. « Dabbling in baking and bento making

  2. Hi
    Is there a substitute for the tofu? Maybe yogurt or buttermilk

Leave a Reply

