Eating cupcakes in NYC.

Over three days in NYC (Dec 13-16) I sampled a wide variety of cupcakes… My friend Rita, whom I have known since I was about three years old, is living in NYC at the moment, and despite studying nutrition she shares my rather unhealthy love for cupcakes. We went on a cupcake sightseeing on Tuesday, and I also sampled some cupcakes the day before and after…

Kytofu, 9th avenue & 48th st.


This Japanese dessert place served up a so-called Chocolate Soufflé Cupcake with a shiro cream and strawberry compote. It was very tasty and wonderfully presented, but I can’t say I would really classify it as a cupcake… We did really enjoy it, though, and we also had some excellent tea. A lovely and different dessert place.

Billy’s Bakery, 9th ave and 21st st.


Next was Billy’s Bakery, which several people have recommended. And with good reason — this was the most lusciously moist cupcake with the most amazingly rich, yet fluffy, frosting. Amazingly decadent and so filling that we had to take a break from cupcakes for several hours!

Magnolia Bakery, Bleecker st and 11th st.

The mother of all cupcake shops. I did find that the cake was drier and the frosting was less luscious than at Billy’s.  A bit of a disappointment. Also didn’t take a picture.. We ate it late in the afternoon after carrying it around for a while, so it was dark outside and the cupcake looked quite beat up!

Babycakes, Broome st and Orchard st.

I shouldn’t actually eat eggs much. I do it anyway, as you can tell, but I am thrilled to find places like Babycakes. The place is extremely allergy friendly — they have vegan and gluten free cupcakes and there wasn’t a nut in sight. Also, they are agave sweetened. The chocolate cupcake I sampled was slightly dry and crumbly, which I think is acceptable when you take into consideration how it is magically free of all known allergens…! The frosting was excellent, I really wonder how they make it!

Kumquat bakery (sampled at a crafts market at Lafayette and 4th st)


I couldn’t pass up the chance to sample their mini maple bacon cupcake. I mean, how crazy is that? Sweet and savory and bite sized! It’s awkward to compare it to all these other chocolatey treats, but it was definitely interesting!

One response to “Eating cupcakes in NYC.

  1. Cupcake sightseeing!!! Best concept ever!

Leave a Reply

