Vegan “omelette”.

Seeing as I grew up with an egg allergy, I have never actually eaten an omelette. Therefore I have no idea if this is vaguely similar. Call it what you like — it sort of looks like an omelette but perhaps it has more in common with the zucchini chickpea pancakes.

Chickpea flour (aka gram, besan, farina di ceci) is the magic ingredient again. So versatile! I even make pancakes in the morning with it, mixing it with ap flour, water and a bit of baking powder.

Vegan “omelette”

  • 3 small potatoes
  • 1/4 cauliflower
  • 1/2 small onion
  • handful spinach
  • 1 dl chickpea flour
  • 1.5 dl water
  • seasoning

I chopped up three small potatoes (halves, then 2-3 mm slices) which I proceeded to sauté in a bit of oil for some minutes (until al dente). I actually did this in the rice cooker… And tossed some cauliflower in at the end. You want it to be almost cooked so you don’t end up with hard chunks of raw potato.

While waiting for the potatoes, I mixed up the “egg mixture”  from chickpea flour and water. I added a sprinkling of cayenne and curry powder, plus salt and pepper. It’s important to stir well to avoid lumps.

In a frying pan I fried some sliced onions with a bit of herbs. Once they were softened and all, I added the potato and cauliflower, plus a handful of spinach. I stirfried it all until the spinach was more or less wilted. I gathered it all together in the center of the pan, and poured the chickpea mixture over top, and let it fry under a lid for 5+ minutes.

I was hoping it would all cook through without having to flip it, but alas — it started getting burned underneath and was still not quite cooked through. I managed, with some difficulty and two utensils, to flip it over and cook for another 2 minutes or so.

It turned out super tasty! A quick and easy meal, which we enjoyed with some leftover 8-dollar Argentinian red wine… It doesn’t always have to be fancy…

Leave a Reply

