Speedy no-knead focaccia.

I love yeast based baking, though I don’t often do it. Yeast-risen baked goods are very common in Norway, as you could imagine (mmm cinnamon buns!), but it takes time and effort and I am generally too lazy. When I do bake, however, it makes me feel very housewifey and useful. So I figured I would make focaccia instead of studying today… — probably the simplest kind of no-knead bread. It’s been a while since I did it last. I didn’t remember the proportions, so I looked that up, but otherwise made it as I remembered making it years ago as per a former MIL’s recipe..

Speedy no-knead focaccia for 2

  • 2 dl lukewarm water
  • 1 tsp instant yeast
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 4 dl flour (I did 1 dl wholewheat spelt and 3 dl all purpose)

Mix the yeast and sugar into the lukewarm water. Add flour dl by dl, stirring until you get a relatively loose dough.

Leave to rise. I remember from the original recipe I used that you should leave it to rise for 3-4 hours (somewhere not too hot). I decided to take a short cut with instant yeast and about 1 hr rising time in a hot place. It got pretty big still, though a longer rising time is surely better.

Gently pour/coax the dough into a pan which has some olive oil in the bottom. Try not to disturb it too much, so that you retain the big air pockets. Sprinkle the top with whatever you like — I put chopped fresh rosemary, chopped garlic, sliced green olives and sea salt.

Bake at 225C for about 25? mins. About five mins before it is done, take it out and sprinkle some olive oil on it. Return to the oven.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

