Savory Mediterranean Everything Muffins.

I don’t usually bake using recipes, rather I tend to just make stuff up and hope for the best, vaguely inspired by recipes I have previously used or read. This is one of these inventions, inspired by my friend Rita’s excellent blog post about savory muffins. The philosophy here is “mix together a bunch of good things and hope they turn into good muffins”. And they did!

“Norwegian” measurements, for once (paradoxically!) — I only have IKEA measuring equipment and it gives me desilitres (1 dl=100 ml) instead of cups. 2 dl is about 1 smallish cup.

Savory Mediterranean Everything Muffins

  • 2 dl ap flour (store was sold out of whole wheat)
  • 1 dl chickpea flour (because it’s healthy and full of fibre!)
  • 1 dl wheat germ (same)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • herbes de provence
  • some cayenne
  • 2 dl finely grated zucchini
  • 1/2 dl oil
  • just under 1 dl milk
  • 1/2 dl feta chunks (I used reduced fat ready made feta crumbs)
  • scant 1/2 dl chopped sundried tomato (these were in oil, otherwise they must first be reconstituted in water)
  • scant 1/2 dl chopped green olives

Mix dry ingredients, then add the wet ones. Combine. Spoon into muffin tins and bake for about 15 mins at 180C. Yum! Looking forward to sticking these in a lunch box!

Mediterranean Everything Muffins.

3 responses to “Savory Mediterranean Everything Muffins.

  1. These look great! I have some zucchini I need to use and I was thinking about making muffins. Will definitely try these ones, I like the Mediterranean flavors.

  2. If I tried baking without a recipe I’m sure I’d end up with some inedible flat muffin. Lol. Those look really good,- I’m impressed

  3. Thank you!
    To be fair I have made a fair few batches of muffins and I have a general idea of what the wet/dry/raising agent ratio should be..

    And then you can just riff endlessly and most of the time it works out!

Leave a Reply

