Magic Chickpea Flour, part 2: Socca.

I have been very excited here before about zucchini/chickpea pancakes. I just tried to make another kind of chickpea pancake today, a specialty from Nice called socca. It’s the easiest thing in the world to make, and utterly delicious. It’s really amazing how two ingredients turn into perfect pancakes like this.

My take on socca.

My take on socca.

  • 1 cup chickpea flour
  • 1 cup lukewarm water
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 thinly sliced onion
  • chopped rosemary
  • salt and freshly ground pepper

Mix sifted chicpea flour and water well, whisking to avoid lumps. Add oil. Add onions and seasonings. Leave to rest for 30 minutes or more, up to several hours, to allow the flour to absorb the water properly. Fry in olive oil in a pan at relatively high heat. It should be like a slightly thick crepe. Flip once it’s kind of golden on one side. This batter makes about 5 pancakes.

The real way to do this is apparently to fry/bake in a pan that goes in the oven, but I do’t have one. Also not sure how authentic the onions are. This onion-y stove top version turned out amazing though!

I served it topped with roasted vegetables. I tossed zucchini, broccoli, red bell pepper, garlic and rosemary with olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper, and roasted them at 200C. It was a light, lovely and delicious vegan meal.

3 responses to “Magic Chickpea Flour, part 2: Socca.

  1. I love socca!! I’ve had mine drizzled with a little agave nectar, but I love the idea of topping with roasted veg!

  2. I imagined they would work better with a more savory type topping, but next time I’ll leave the onion and rosemary out and try with some maple syrup on top 🙂

  3. Pingback: Socca love. | Dabbling in baking and bento making

Leave a Reply

