Green tea ginger apricot muffins.

I’m getting into a habit of baking muffins on the weekends — it’s super nice to stick a little muffin in my bento box, and I also feel less guilty than when I make cupcakes… I try to make my muffins reasonably healthy, meaning I always try to use whole wheat flour and relatively small amounts of oil and sugar. I generally work from the same base recipe, and just play around a little with the flavors and occasionally with the proportions. This time they are a little more complicated and fancy, but well worth the little extra effort, s they turn out shiny and moist and lovely.

I love green tea flavored things, as you may have noticed. My green tea cupcakes are my pride and joy… I never made green tea muffins though, so I figured this would be a nice project for the day. Apparently Le Pain Quotidien (a sort of faux rustique yet delectable Belgian-origin franchise café which is apparently aiming for world domination) makes vegan green tea ginger muffins (pictured here). I don’t know how they make theirs, but I don’t expect them to be this healthty… I also wanted to add some sort of chunks to them, to keep some moisture in there and add some nice texture. And so the green tea ginger apricot muffins were born.

Green tea ginger apricot muffin.

Green tea ginger apricot muffin.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup quick oats whizzed in the food processor
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • scant 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 – 2 tsp green tea powder/matcha
  • 3/4 tsp ground ginger
  • scant 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup chopped dried apricots
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 3 tbsp apple sauce
  • 3/4 cup soy milk (I use vanilla soy milk)
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 3 tbsp water

First, make a “flax egg”. Flax seeds can be used as an egg replacer with some success. I don’t usually bother with egg replacements, meaning I don’t usually make things that would require an egg. I figured I would try here though, and it had a nice effect on the texture.

A “flax egg” is made by combining 1 tbsp ground flax seeds (bought ground already or ground in a blender) with 3 tbsp water. You stir it well and set it aside, and the mix will get a sort of goopy texture after a few minutes.

Mix the dry ingredients. For once, it is important to actually sift them, as this will allow the green tea powder to distribute evenly. Otherwise it tends to be lumpy. The sugar, of course, requires no sifting. Combine well.

Add the apricot and stir to coat.

Mix the flax egg well with the other wet ingredients, to ensure that it gets evenly distributed, and add the wet mix to the dry.

Distribute into a muffin pan. I made a sort of topping here from flour, sugar, some ground ginger and a little bit of oil, but honestly, it didn’t do much for the muffins and is certainly not required.

Bake at 190 C for about 15-18 mins. Enjoy!

Update: These were a little bit dry the next day, and should probably be frozen if you don’t expect to eat them within a few days. Next time I might up the oil and soy milk a little, as well as upping the ginger a little bit.

Leave a Reply

