Apple coconut cardamom muffins.

This is another case of trying to come up with a muffin recipe using what I had in my kitchen — this weekend was Pentecost, and stores in Norway have been closed. They turned out very tasty, but they do fall apart a bit, on account of the apple chunks I believe. It might not happen if you grate the apple, but I really liked the soft apple chunks in there.

The coconut flavor is very subtle. I didn’t use all coconut milk because of all the saturated fat, but with the low fat coconut milk that might work well.

In fact these remind me a lot of my mother’s chunky apple cake, which is spiced with cardamom. Mmmm, I should make that too one of these days!

Apple coconut cardamom muffin

Apple coconut cardamom muffin

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup white flour
  • 3/4 cup quick oats whizzed in the food processor (I like to do this, so they’re not so chunky)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp cardamom
  • 1 apple, skin on, chopped in small cubes
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup soy milk (I used the vanilla kind)

Mix the dry ingredients, add the apple, then add the wet ingredients.

Pour into a muffin tin, bake at 180C for about 15-20 minutes.

One response to “Apple coconut cardamom muffins.

  1. Gud! Vil du komme hos meg og lage mat? Jeg har ikke tid til aa prøve det selv men det ser helt nydelig ut!!!

Leave a Reply

