Curried chickpea terrine.

Curried chickpea terrine.

Curried chickpea terrine.

I don’t particularly remember how I stumbled across this recipe on a blog called Cléa Cuisine, but I was instantly intrigued! I hope I am not infringing any kind of copyright by posting it in English. Cléa’s recipe is in turn an adaptation of a recipe from a cookbook by Valérie Cupillard called “Pâtés végétaux et tartinades”, published by La Plage.

So this is a wonderfully easy vegan terrine/pâté, which would be good as part of a vegan entrée along with rice or something, and some veggies. It’s made from chickpea flour and veggies, and from what I can see chickpea flour is really quite good for you! 100g chickpea flour has 22 g protein and11 g fiber, while only containing 7 g fat (and 58 g carbs). It’s apparently also a good source of folate and manganese in particular.

Ingredients:

  • 1 grated carrot
  • 1 onion, finely chopped (I whizzed it in the food processor)
  • 1/2 bell pepper, chopped (this was my personal addition, the original recipe had 2 carrots but no bell pepper)
  • some olive oil for sauteing the veg (the original recipe said 5 tbsp, which seemed like a LOT to me. I used 2-3 tbsp, roughly)
  • 3 tsp curry powder (adjust according to your preferences
  • (I also added some grated ginger and a little garam masala)
  • 150 g chickpea flour (also known as besan or gram flour)
  • 500 ml water
  • salt

I used the food processor for all the veggies so they were really finely chopped. I don’t like onion bits much… I’m sure bigger veggie bits would be good for texture though.

As I had tiny veggie bits they were quite quick to sauté. The original recipe said 20 mins, but I certainly didn’t need that long. Sprinkle the veggies with the curry powder and whatever else you are adding. I like to grate ginger with a wasabi grater, because that turns it into this fine, juicy pulp that’s really easy to blend in.

While sauteing the veggies, mix up the chickpea flour and water and bring to a boil. Keep a close eye and stir it, beacause it will very suddenly thicken drastically! Once it reaches this creamy thick consistency, remove from heat and add veggies and salt, and adjust seasonings.

Pour the thick batter into a bread mold, bake at 180C for about 35 mins. Leave to cool before attempting to take it out of the mold or slicing it. It should then come out quite easily.

Lovely eaten cold. I suppose it could be reheated too, and I am definitely putting some in my bentos this week!

Leave a Reply

