Corn muffins with tahini

I have been terrible at updating the blog lately, and terrible at making bentos. But I should really get better at making bento ready foods, especially given that I won’t be making that much money for the next few months being sort of between jobs. There is really no need for any of us to spend money on lunch when I could just get my act together and make some…

So today I made a big batch of onigiri – some big triangles for husband dearest and little flower shaped ones for me. And then I tried to make corn muffins, which I have never done before.

I have made a gluten-free vegan cornbread a couple of times based on this recipe, but using rice flour instead of wheat, so I started from there. I wanted something a little healthier – less sweet, perhaps using less oil. I didn’t have any good milk substitute, so that’s where the tahini came in. I figured that whizzing tahini and water I would get both a sort of “sesame milk” and eliminate the need for extra oil. I think next time I might add a little bit of honey – the corn kernels didn’t add as much sweetness as I expected.

Gluten-free, vegan corn muffins with tahini

  • 1 cup corn meal
  • 1 cup brown rice flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup corn kernels (from a can)
  • 1 cup water
  • 3-4 tbsp tahini
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp No-Egg Egg Replacer plus 6 tbsp water

Mix all the dry ingredients well, add corn kernels. Mix the egg replacer with water. Add that together with the tahini, water and vinegar, to a blender and whizz until it is all combined and the tahini is dissolved. Mix wet into dry, add a little more water if it is too thick and not coming together properly.

Spoon into  muffin tins. Bake at 200C for 20-25 mins? Check for doneness. They will stay quite light in color.

Leave a Reply

