Green tea white chocolate cupcakes.

These were a great success with my guests yesterday, although the plain dark choc/white choc ones went first (people tend to be a little skeptical about green cake…)

Elisabeth and a cupcake.

Elisabeth and a cupcake.

Green tea cupcakes

  • 1 1/3 cup ap flour
  •  A bit less than 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp matcha/green tea powder*
  • A bit less than 1/3 cup canola or other mild oil
  • 3/4 cup soy milk
  • 1/4-1/2 cup water if necessary

Mix the dry ingredients. Use a sieve for the flour and particularly for the matcha powder, making sure everything is blended very well.

Add the wet ingredients, stir to a smooth batter. Fill cupcake liners about 2/3 full, bake at 180C/350F for about 15 minutes, until you can prick them with a toothpick and nothing sticks.

*I don’t use the very fancy high grade matcha for baking, because it is so expensive. I have a stash of “lower grade” green tea powder which I bought for cheap last time I was in Toronto, and I believe it is something like this.

White chocolate buttercream

I have no idea about the proportions for this, because I don’t ever measure.. I just take a fair amount of butter, or half butter/half margarine, and cream it.  Then I melt a block of white chocolate (100 g) and let cool so it won’t melt the butter. I then add it to the butter and cream it some more. Then I start to add sifted icing sugar and keep creaming it until it gets nice and fluffy.

Pipe the buttercream onto the cupcakes. I have decorated mine with homemade purple fondant flowers. I bought white ready made fondant and gel dye to dye it purple. I then rolled it out and used special mini “cookie cutters” for this purpose to make flowers in different shapes. Pretty, non?

One response to “Green tea white chocolate cupcakes.

  1. takk takk takk :)

Leave a Reply

